What Was I Thinking? – Part 1

imagesCaptains Log

Saturday, July 11, 2009

5:15pm – Arrival at my mother’s home with my 6 month old son.  Greeted by 2 female critters, ages 11 and 7

5:42pm – Mother departs and the children and I are alone.  Completely alone.  Until 3pm the next day

5:43pm – What in the sam hell was I thinking?  Note to self – MrsTDJ doesn’t really like kids that much, with the exception of her own.  They’re ok to look at and chat with for a few minutes, but bonding for hours?  Not so much

5:44pm – 3pm tomorrow?  Really?  I don’t know if all 4 of us will make it.  Somebody  is going down and it’s even money on me or any of the kids

5:53pm – You’re 11 and you don’t eat meat.  Seriously, just fish and turkey? Houston we have a problem because I’m making chicken quesadillas.  Why didn’t you tell me before?  Guess it’s just cheese and refried bean quesadillas for you.

6:39pm – Ok, I fed them, why won’t they calm down and go to sleep or something?

7:12pm – Note to self – correction to earlier statement.  Amend, “doesn’t really like”, to “absolutely hates the kids”

7:47pm – Sponge Bob is not really for the kids, I see.  I’m gonna go ahead and turn that off.

8:03pm – Note to self – although MrsTDJ is an only child and would do anything for her Mama, she hopes that her Mama will never again ask her to babysit

8:11pm – Mobile post to Facebook, “Someone slap me or save me!”

8:33pm – Hmm, responses from 2 friends who are in the general area.  Maybe I really can get someone to come over to help.

9:17pm – Text from Mother, “How’s it going?”

9:18pm – Response to Mother, “We are surviving.  No injuries or only minor damages to the house.”

11:56pm – Wait?  They’re not sleep yet?  Dear God, why won’t 3pm COME NOW????????

4 thoughts on “What Was I Thinking? – Part 1

  1. Bwahahahahahahahaha, I am over here hollerin! I can’t take being alone with kids alone for long periods of time either….which is why I try and refrain from doing it. lol

  2. LMAO!!! Dang, TDJ! I’m weak @ “What in the sam hell was I thinking?” LOL What time did they end up going to bed??? And how did things turn out?

    I need your opinion on a post I just put up. I don’t want to leave you out, so stop by when you get a chance.

Leave a Reply

